For enquiries call:



HomeBlogQualityDifferences Between ISO Standards

Differences Between ISO Standards

05th Sep, 2023
view count loader
Read it in
4 Mins
In this article
    Differences Between ISO Standards

    Organizations adopt ISO International Standards to ensure that their products and services are of good quality, reliable and safe. ISO Standards Act as strategic tools for businesses to reduce costs. This is achieved by minimizing errors, increasing productivity and facilitating international trade.

    ISO Standards are a set of guidelines that have to be adhered to by organisations. These standards ensure that organisations do not compromise on quality. They also help organisations functions as efficiently as possible and give customers the assurance of the quality of products provided by any organisation.

    Different ISO Standards

    Providing a practical set of tools, the ISO helps address global challenges. A few popular management certifications system standards are:

    • ISO 9001 Quality management systems

    The ISO 9000 family provides guidance and tools to organisations by addressing quality management.They ensure that the quality of products and services are maintained and meet the customer requirements. Standards in the ISO 9000 family include:

    1. ISO 9001:2015

    It is one of the most popular and commonly used standard in any organisation. It sets out the criteria for quality management systems. The ISO 9001:2015 standard comprises of 7 quality management principles that include customer focus, improvement, people engagement, relationship management, process approach, leadership and decision making based on evidence.

    2. ISO 9000:2015

    ISO 9000:2015 provides a set of quality management principles that applies to organisations that implement a management system to ensure consistency in the provision of products and services. This helps meet requirements and contributes to effective communication between the organisation and its clients.

    3.ISO 9004:2009

    The ISO 9004:2009 standard is applicable to any organisation or company, regardless of its size or type. It enables the organisation to achieve constant success by adopting the quality management approach.

    4. ISO 19011:2011
    This standard is suitable for organisations that handle internal and external audits of management systems. Whether its management system’s auditing, managing an audit program or evaluation of individuals in the audit process, the ISO 19011:2011 facilitates all.

    • ISO 50001 Energy management

    ISO 50001 enables the development of energy management systems (EnMS) by encouraging all the sectors in an organisation to use energy efficiently. Standards in 50001 family include:

    1. ISO 50001:2011

    The objective of this standard is to develop policies for efficient energy use, review the policy, fix targets, measure results and continual improvement of energy management.

    2. ISO 50002:2014

    Every organisation carries out energy audits to ensure efficiency in their energy performances.The ISO 50002:2014 specifies requirements for this process. It lays out a set of principles to carry out the energy audits and specifies the requirements for processes.

    3.ISO 5003:2014

    This standard is used to ensure that EnMS auditing is effective in addressing auditing processes, checks for proficiency of the individual involved in the EnMS certification process, set audit duration and multi-site sampling.

    • ISO 27001 Information security management

    ISO 27001 Ensures the security of information assets in an organisation. Standards in the ISO 27001 family include:

    1. ISO/IEC 27001:2013

    This standard deals with the establishment, implementation, maintenance and improvement of an information security management system in an organisation. It also lays out requirements to estimate and analyse the information security risks that may arise in an organisation.

    2. ISO/IEC 27002:2013

    ISO/IEC 27002:2013 provides guidance on information security standards and information security management practices at the organisational level. It facilitates the implementation of information security controls and encourages organisations to develop their own information security guidelines.

    3. ISO/IEC 27003:2010

    This standard focuses on the requirements needed to design and implement an Information Security Management System (ISMS) in agreement with ISO/IEC 27001:2005. It also outlines the processes required to gain a management approval for ISMS implementation and determines a project for ISMS implementation.

    4. ISO/IEC 27004:2009

    ISO/IEC 27004:2009 is applicable to all the organisations, regardless of size and type. It provides advice on how to develop and use measures to evaluate the performance of an implemented information security system (ISMS) and a group of controls, as stated in the ISO/IEC 27001.

    Looking to elevate your career in project management? Our online PRINCE2 course is the perfect solution. With expert instructors and comprehensive materials, you'll achieve mastery in project management with ease. Sign up today and take your career to the next level!


    KnowledgeHut .


    KnowledgeHut is an outcome-focused global ed-tech company. We help organizations and professionals unlock excellence through skills development. We offer training solutions under the people and process, data science, full-stack development, cybersecurity, future technologies and digital transformation verticals.

    Share This Article
    Ready to Master the Skills that Drive Your Career?

    Avail your free 1:1 mentorship session.

    Your Message (Optional)

    Upcoming Quality Management Batches & Dates

    NameDateFeeKnow more
    Course advisor icon
    Whatsapp/Chat icon