The Top Information Security Certifications to Consider

Read it in 5 Mins

Last updated on
11th Mar, 2021
21st Nov, 2020
The Top Information Security Certifications to Consider

Cybercrimes have the ability to cripple even robust security systems in a matter of minutes. Malicious hacking has compromised the sensitive data of many individuals and enterprises. The only way to counter malicious hacking is to detect vulnerabilities in systems beforehand and take preventive measures.

This is where ‘ethical hackers’ or ‘white hat hackers’ come into the scene. An ethical hacker, according to the EC-Council, is an individual who specializes in ethical hacking tools, techniques, and methodologies to secure an organization’s information systems. They work with organizations to make their security systems more fool proof. Ethical Hackers have become national treasures to governments as well as the most coveted assets to workforces in some of the finest companies across industries.

If you are contemplating a career in ethical hacking, below are the top certifications you could consider getting to get a foothold in the ethical hacking industry.

Certified Ethical Hacking (CEH)

CEH is the oldest and most popular certification in ethical hacking. It is accredited by the prestigious EC-Council and is considered a must-have for aspiring ethical hackers. The latest version is CEH v11 and it trains you in the latest commercial-grade hacking tools, and methodologies every ethical hacker and information security professional should be aware of.

On completion of the CEH course, you will have the skill set to detect vulnerabilities in target systems and undertake preventive measures to resolve them for the security of systems. The training will help you develop the mindset of an ethical hacker and validates your credibility as a skilled professional in white hacking.

As far as jobs are concerned, the opportunities for CEH certified hackers are numerous. Typical job roles include:

  • Penetration tester
  • Network security specialist
  • Ethical hacker
  • Security consultant
  • Site administrator & auditor.

This certification gives you the opportunity to not only work with corporates but also Government organizations. Since the threat of cybercrimes is always present, ethical hacking experts are an asset to the Govt IT sector, National Security Agency (NSA), the Committee on National Security Systems (CNSS) and the Department of Defense (DoD).

Certified Information System Security Professional (CISSP)

The CISSP certification trains you to design, implement and manage even the most complex cybersecurity programs. Accredited by the (ISC)², it validates your prowess as a security professional. It trains you in different areas like access control systems and methodology, business continuity planning and disaster recovery planning, physical security, operations, security, management practices, telecommunications and networking, security architecture application and systems development, law, and ethics.

In order to be eligible for the CISSP credential, you should have a minimum of 5 years of relatable experience or four years of the aforementioned work experience, plus an information security degree from a National Center of Academic Excellence or a regional equivalent.

With the CISSP, you become eligible for the following job titles:

  • Security consultant
  • Security analyst/ manager
  • Security systems engineer/auditor
  • Director of security
  • IT manager/Director
  • Network Architect
  • Security Architect

Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)

People who hold CISA certifications are responsible for implementing the security controls in organisations. CISA is a sought after certification from ISACA, a global association that serves more than 145,000 members in more than 188 countries worldwide. CISA is the gold standard of achievement for professionals trained in auditing, monitoring, and assessing an organization’s business and IT systems. As a CISA certified auditor, you will have adequate knowledge to identify risks in target systems and fix them before malicious attacks occur.

Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)

The CISM certification, also from ISACA, indicates your expertise in multiple domains like information security governance, program development and management, risk management and incident management. It is highly recommended for security consultants and managers who have technical expertise in information security and controls. CISM is a natural fit after the CISSP certification, especially for a smooth transition into managing and overseeing information security at a strategic level.

Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC)

This certification from ISACA validates your capacity to identify and manage IT risks while implementing and maintaining information systems controls. A highly-valued credential, the course explores various topics like IT Risk Identification, IT Risk Assessment, Risk Response and Mitigation Risk and Control Monitoring and Reporting.

ISO 27001:2013 LI/LA

ISO27001 is a widely recognized certification in the information security industry. It has multiple related modules that explore various information security controls.

There are two job titles you can pursue after this certification: Lead Implementer and Lead Auditor. The Lead Implementor is responsible for implementing the security measures in target systems as per ISO 27001:2013 standards. The Lead Auditor is hired by certification bodies to audit organizations that have applied for ISO certification and check if measures have been implemented properly.

Certified Penetration Tester (CPT)

Issued by the Information Assurance Certification Review Board (IACRB), this program trains you to become a well-versed penetration tester. Penetration testing or pen testing is the assessment of computers, application security architecture, and networks to detect loopholes that are prone to malicious hacking. The course trains you in Pen Testing, Network Testing and attacks, Windows vulnerability, Linux/Unix vulnerability, Enumeration, Web App Testing and Wireless Testing.

CompTIA PenTest+

This is another leading certification in cybersecurity from It offers security+ as a beginner certification, and Pentest+ as an advance level certification. CompTIA Pentest+ covers the entire process of vulnerability assessment starting from information gathering, scanning, exploitation, and reporting.

This certificate will give you information about:

  • Exploits and its use
  • Vulnerability enumeration
  • Information about BASH, PowerShell(windows), Python script
  • Report Creation

Licensed Penetration Tester (LPT)

Yet another certification provided by EC-Council, is the Expert level Pen testing certification. This is an intensive certification program meant for expert cybersecurity professionals. Through this course, you will learn how to perform advanced penetration testing concepts such as fuzzing, PowerShell scripting, BASH, Python, Perl, and Ruby environments, scripting, and mobile device penetration testing, among others.

Considering the above certifications, the onus to choose the right one is upon every aspiring cybersecurity professional out there. For a smooth learning journey, get started with a basic training program like CEH and gradually move on to the rest. Choose a recognized training provider with years of experience to help you chase your career goals with confidence.



KnowledgeHut is an outcome-focused global ed-tech company. We help organizations and professionals unlock excellence through skills development. We offer training solutions under the people and process, data science, full-stack development, cybersecurity, future technologies and digital transformation verticals.